Anna Magdalene Bach – Women Artists Ignored or Appropriated

Oddly enough, I had heard one of Bach’s cello suites during the week and immediately thought, wow, this is not what I expect from Bach. What a great range he had!

Honestly, I’m not as musical as my children so I’m practising recognising what they play, so I actually thought, Is this one Bach too? I wouldn’t have guessed!

The cello suite really doesn’t sound like the piano or violin pieces I know.

Of course. His wife wrote it and even when the music says “written by Anna Magdalene Bach” we all assume that means ‘copied’. It happened to Artemisia Gentilischi too. There’s a list.

2 SWORDS for good music done the only way you could, Anna Magdalene

Leave a Reply

